You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to WesWorld. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.


Tuesday, March 6th 2012, 5:28pm

League of Nations Information

This thread is stickied as an informational thread.


The League of Nations
The League of Nations is composed of three main divisions: the League Assembly, the League Council, and the Permanent Secretariat.

Organization of the League Assembly
The Assembly consisted of representatives of all Members of the League. Each state was allowed up to three representatives and one vote. The Assembly had its sessions at Geneva and met on yearly basis on the first Monday of September.. A special session of the Assembly might be summoned at the request of a Member, provided a majority of the Members concurred.

The special functions of the Assembly included the admission of new Members, the periodical election on non-permanent Members of the Council [Note 1], the election with the Council of the judges of the Permanent Court, and the control of the budget. In practice the Assembly is the general directing force of League activities.

Composition of the League Assembly - 1943
Atlantis, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Chosen, Colombia, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, East African State, France, Germany, Greece, Hedjaz, Hungary, Iberia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kongo, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Nordmark, Paraguay, Persia, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Switzerland, Syria, Thailand, The Philippines, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Yemen, Yugoslavia
Former Members:
China (resigned 1942), India (resigned 1942)

The League Council
The League Council is composed of ten permanent members and ten non-permanent members. It meets five times a year, though can also meet in extraordinary session.

Ten Permanent Members
Atlantis, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Nordmark, Russia, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Ten Non-Permanent Members
- 1942: Australia, Belgium, China, Hungary, India, Lithuania, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania
- 1943: Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Chosen, Colombia, East African State, Ireland, Latvia, Thailand
- 1944: Armenia, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Kongo, Luxembourg, Mexico, Persia, The Philippines, Turkey
- 1945: Azerbaijan, Bolivia, Greece, Hedjaz, Iberia, Netherlands, Saudi Arabia, Switzerland, Syria, Yugoslavia
- 1946: Armenia, Belgium, Chosen, Ireland, Kongo, Paraguay, Persia, Peru, Romania, Yemen
- 1947: Azerbaijan, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, East African State, Hungary, Latvia, Mexico
- 1948: Bolivia, Iberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Syria, The Philippines, Turkey, Yugoslavia
- 1949: Argentina, Australia, Chile, Colombia, Greece, Indochina, Switzerland, Thailand, +2 others

Permanent Secretariat
The Permanent Secretariat is responsible for preparing the agenda for the Council and Assembly and publishing reports of the meetings and other routine matters.

Other League Bodies
- Permanent Court of International Justice
- International Labour Organisation
- Health Organization
- International Committee on Intellectual Cooperation
- Economic and Financial Organization
- Commission for Refugees
- Transit, Transport and Communications
- Permanent Mandates Commission
- Permanent Central Opium Board
- Advisory Committee on the Traffic in Women and Children
- Slavery Commission
- Committee for the Study of the Legal Status of Women

Note 1 - We've replaced this with the rotation as we're too lazy to vote on it year after year.